Reverse Engineering the RVR Protocol

I have started a Wiki that records my work on reverse engineering the protocol. There are some code snippets in the documentation.

It is on BitBucket where I’ll eventually put a C++ implementation in a repository. I’ll update code when the final specification is available.

It would be nice if this thread consolidated the information people glean from code or we obtain from Sphero.

You’ll notice in the Wiki I’ve included information that I have not tested or implemented. Also areas where I’ve seen hints but don’t know details. If you can elaborate on any of this please comment in reply and I’ll add the information. As I implement items I’ll remove the tentative indicators.

3 Likes

I’m a Github newb. Would it make sense to work on a Wiki that they can pull?

That’s a great idea. I wonder if it would make sense to try to document it in some kind of language-neutral format such as kaitai struct? (I haven’t used this, but it looks cool and there is support for a lot of different languages, which might make it more general than just C++.)

I’m still in the very early hooking-up-the-hardware stage but would definitely like to help once I’m a bit farther along.

You will be able to pull the Wiki but don’t know why you would.

1 Like

The Wiki will be general with only a few code snippets.

1 Like

Looks like most of their SDKs may have been made using this toolkit and a set of templates

https://swagger.io/

Raspberry Pi NodeJS was created using this file it looks like.

Not sure if Sphero will be willing to provide that file for the raw API, but when they release the API, we could make our own, or use a different tool that does the same thing if needed

1 Like