Self-charging RVR

Ultimately, I’d like to be able to make my RVR autonomous including the capability of returning to a charging station and self-charging. I am assuming this would require hardware modification and I’m fine with that. On the other hand, I’m not an electrical engineer so it would take me a lot of research and thought to figure out where to slice and hack in order to get something like this working. I’m hoping that either 1) some other community member has some ideas about this and perhaps has already done it or 2) that someone at sphero might have some suggestions.

On a related note, when I was looking for a category to post this in it seemed odd that there wasn’t something like an “advanced hardware” category already. Shouldn’t there be?

2 Likes

I was looking at the QI charger with USB C. It is thin and could be mounted under the RVR, but the issue was that the RVR battery USB C connection is blocked by case and not sure if it will charge when battery installed in the RVR.

2 Likes

I believe what you are looking for is a docking station that the RVR would drive over that would make contact with two prongs and the RVR would sense that it is charging and stop. The two prongs would need to be connected directly to the battery terminals in the RVR and would need to be a Lipo charger so that the battery would be charged properly.

Mike

1 Like

Yes, the charging can be accomplished by either contacts or inductance and self-navigating to the charging station is pretty straightforward albeit error prone. The question is really about the power circuitry on the RVR. For instance, is it absolutely necessary to cut the circuit between the battery and the RVR prior to charging? I suspect it probably is, but I don’t know for sure. Also, I wonder if the RVR was built with any kind of “charging the battery while it’s in the robot” feature in mind and, if so, is there anything residual in the existing on-board design that may prove helpful to the task?

1 Like